EasyU T1 · Personal tax

2026 T1 tax information — complete checklist

This is the summary page at the end of the guided interview with every situation expanded: what to enter, which documents to attach, and (tagged) when each part applies. Your household only sees what applies to you.

Before you start

  • Our process: submit information → review → prepare return → confirm results → e-sign → file with CRA → archive
  • CRA authorization: new clients must authorize our firm as representative in CRA's system (new process since July 15, 2025); existing clients may ignore
  • Slips marked “CRA can provide” (T4 / T4E / T5 / T3 / RRSP, etc.) can be downloaded by us from CRA once authorized — no need to upload, provided the employer / issuer has filed them and they show up in your CRA My Account; if not, please upload them
  • SIN (Social Insurance Number): required for new clients or new dependants — please submit it through the secure method your accountant provides; we store it only in encrypted form in our internal system
  • For every amount section you may simply upload your statements and let us compile the figures (compiling may be charged extra depending on the work)

1. Your household

Members · basic info

Service version · CRA authorization

Service versionLite 35% / Standard (standard price) / Ultra 150% (the only one covering CRA reviews / audits after filing)
Have you authorized our firm with CRA?Yes / not yet
Has a CRA My Account?Asked only when not yet authorized

Who’s filing with you?

PrincipalLast name · first name · middle name (optional)
Spouse / partnerLast / first name · filing with us too?
Dependants (0–6)Last / first name · relationship (son / daughter / parent / other) · date of birth · SIN · also filing?

Principal / spouse · basic info

Last name
Text
First name
Text
Middle nameif any
Text
Emailused to e-sign T183 and other formsAdults
Text
Gender
Male / Female / Other
Date of birth
Date
SINreturning clients: already on file; only new clients / new members
Secure submission for new clients (EasyU keeps last 3 digits)
Residential addressincl. postal code
Text
PhoneAdults
Text
Province / territory you lived in on Dec 31, 2026
Ontario ON / Québec QC / British Columbia BC / Alberta AB / Manitoba MB / Saskatchewan SK / Nova Scotia NS / New Brunswick NB / Newfoundland and Labrador NL / Prince Edward Island PE / Yukon YT / Northwest Territories NT / Nunavut NU / Outside Canada
Status in Canada
Citizen / Permanent resident / Work permit / Study permit / Visitor / other
Marital statusas of Dec 31, 2026Adults
Single / Married / Common-law / Separated / Divorced / Widowed
Did your marital status change in 2026?Adults
Yes / No
Date your marital status changedAdults↳ Only if “Yes” above
Date
Eligible for the Disability Tax Credit (approved T2201)?
Yes / No
Last year’s return and your latest Notice of Assessmentfirst time filing with usAdults
Upload

Dependant · basic info

Last name
Text
First name
Text
Middle nameif any
Text
Date of birth
Date
Residential addressincl. postal code
Text
Province / territory you lived in on Dec 31, 2026
Ontario ON / Québec QC / British Columbia BC / Alberta AB / Manitoba MB / Saskatchewan SK / Nova Scotia NS / New Brunswick NB / Newfoundland and Labrador NL / Prince Edward Island PE / Yukon YT / Northwest Territories NT / Nunavut NU / Outside Canada
Status in Canada
Citizen / Permanent resident / Work permit / Study permit / Visitor / other
Eligible for the Disability Tax Credit (approved T2201)?
Yes / No
Daycare / caregiver / full-day camp expenses?Dependants↳ Children only
Yes / No
2026 incomeDependants↳ Parents / other relatives only
Amount

2. Your situation

Tick for the household · tap whose

Work & income

  • Employment (T4)Per personDetails
  • EI benefitsPer personDetails
  • Pension incomePer personDetails
  • RRSP / FHSA: contributions, new account, transfers or withdrawalsPer personDetails
  • Self-employed / contractorPer personDetails
  • Home office (T2200)Per personDetails
  • Work vehicle / commission expenses (T2200)Per personDetails
  • Union / professional dues paidPer personDetails
  • Other income slips (RRSP / RRIF withdrawals, scholarships, government benefits, etc.)Per personDetails
  • Other income without a slip (tips, cash, app / platform income, etc.)Per personDetails

Investments

  • Interest / dividends / fund income (T5 / T3)Per personDetails
  • Sold stocks / funds (T5008)Per personDetails
  • CryptoPer personDetails
  • Other investment income (private loans / partnerships)Per personDetails
  • Investment loan interest / expenses (deductible)Per personDetails

Real estate

  • Rental propertyHouseholdDetails
  • Sold a propertyHouseholdDetails
  • First-time home buyerPer personDetails
  • Change in useHouseholdDetails
  • Sold within 12 monthsHouseholdDetails
  • Pre-construction saleHouseholdDetails
  • Multigenerational renovationPer personDetails
  • Accessibility renovationPer personDetails

Foreign

  • Foreign income (wages / pension / interest)Per personDetails
  • Foreign assets > $100kPer personDetails
  • Foreign affiliateHouseholdDetails

Family, school & deductions

  • Child care / day campHouseholdDetails
  • Student (T2202)Per personDetails
  • Tuition / training feesPer personDetails
  • Student loan interestPer personDetails
  • Medical expensesHouseholdDetails
  • DonationsHouseholdDetails
  • Spousal support (paid / received)Per personDetails
  • Moved for work / schoolHouseholdDetails

Other situations

  • Moved to Canada this yearPer personDetails
  • Left Canada this yearPer personDetails
  • Paid tax instalments to CRAPer personDetails
  • Live in QuébecHouseholdDetails

3. One part per person filing

Principal / spouse / dependants who file — each fills in the parts for their own situations

Work & income

If “Anything ticked under “Work & income””

For each slip, choose “I’ll upload it” and add the file, or “Get it from CRA” (requires CRA authorization, and the issuer must have filed it so it shows in your CRA My Account).

T4 – Employment income
Uploador get from CRA
T4E – EI benefits received in 2026
Uploador get from CRA
Pension income (T4A / T4A(OAS) / T4A(P)); pension splitting?
Uploador get from CRA
RRSP contribution receiptsincl. the first 60 days of 2027TFSA statements usually aren’t needed — but tell us if you over-contributed, got a letter from CRA about your TFSA, or contributed while not a Canadian resident.
Uploador get from CRA
FHSA contribution receipts2026 calendar year only — no 60-day rule
Uploador get from CRA
Did you open your first FHSA in 2026?
Yes / No
In 2026, did your FHSA have a transfer in from an RRSP, a withdrawal or a transfer out?
Yes / No
FHSA annual statement / transfer and withdrawal recordsinclude any T4FHSA↳ Only if “Yes” above
Upload
Have you withdrawn from your RRSP to buy a first home (HBP) or for school (LLP), or are you repaying one?
Yes / No
HBP / LLP documentswithdrawal form, repayment amount from your Notice of Assessment, etc.↳ Only if “Yes” above
Upload
T4A – Contractor / fees for services
Uploador get from CRA
Employer-signed T2200requiredAdults
Upload
Total km driven in 2026Adults
Number
Work kmnot commutingAdults
Number
Vehicle receiptsfuel / insurance / repairs / loan interest or lease / parkingAdults
Upload
Other employment expensese.g. commission employees: advertising, meals, phoneAdults
Text
Union / professional dues you paid yourself — totalUnion dues already in box 44 of your T4 don’t need to be entered again; dues your employer reimbursed aren’t deductible.
Amount
Dues receiptse.g. CPA, nursing or engineering association fees
Upload
T4RSP / T4RIF – RRSP / RRIF withdrawals
Uploador get from CRA
T4PS and other T4-type slipsusually not on CRA My Account — ask your employer
Upload
T4A – Scholarships / bursaries, RESP education payments, retiring allowance, etc.contractor T4As go under self-employment
Uploador get from CRA
T5007 – Social assistance / workers’ compensationWSIB
Uploador get from CRA
T5013 – Partnership income
Uploador get from CRA
Any other slips not listed aboveplease specify
Text
Income without a slip: source and rough amounte.g. cash tips, ride-share / delivery apps, private tutoring, reselling
Text
Related recordsplatform annual summaries, payment records — if you have them
Upload

Business 1

If “Self-employed / contractor”
Business nameif any
Text
Type of work / industry
Text
Registered for GST/HST (have an HST number)?
Yes / No
GST/HST rate↳ Only if “Yes” above
13% · Ontario HST / 15% · NB / NL / PE HST / 14% · Nova Scotia HST / 5% · other provinces (GST only)
HST number↳ Only if “Yes” above
Text

Income and deductible expenses

Each: Incl. tax / Excl. tax / HST (if GST/HST registered — split automatically)

  • Revenue
  • Purchases / cost of goods
  • Wages / subcontracts
  • Advertising
  • Meals & entertainment (50%)
  • Bank charges & interest
  • Licences, fees & memberships
  • Office expenses
  • Office supplies
  • Accounting & legal fees
  • Repairs & maintenance
  • Delivery & freight
  • Commercial premises: insurance
  • Commercial premises: management fees
  • Commercial premises: rent
  • Commercial premises: property tax
  • Commercial premises: utilities
  • Commercial premises: internet
  • Other (describe)
  • Other (describe)

Business 1: vehicle expenses

If “Self-employed / contractor”if there are vehicle expenses

Motor vehicle expenses

Enter business kilometres — we compute the business-use ratio per CRA rules; parking / 407 at actual business amounts

  • Date purchased
  • Purchase price
  • Total km driven in 2026
  • Business km
  • Fuel
  • Lease payments / loan interest
  • Insurance
  • Licence & registration
  • Maintenance & repairs
  • Parking / 407 tolls
  • Other (describe)

Business 1: business-use-of-home

If “Self-employed / contractor”if working from home

Business-use-of-home expenses

  • Total home area (sq.ft)
  • Office area (sq.ft)
  • Heat / gas
  • Electricity
  • Home insurance
  • Maintenance
  • Rent / mortgage interest
  • Property tax
  • Other (describe)

Home office

If “Home office”

An employer-signed T2200 is required.

Employer-signed T2200Adults
Upload
Dedicated work space?Adults
Yes / No
If dedicated: office areasq.ftAdults
Number
If dedicated: total home areasq.ftAdults
Number
If not dedicated: hours worked at home per weekAdults
Number

Deductible expenses

  • Heat / gas
  • Electricity
  • Water
  • Internet
  • Maintenance: work space
  • Maintenance: whole home
  • Rent
  • Phone
  • Office supplies
  • Commission employees only: home insurance
  • Commission employees only: property tax

Investments

If “Anything ticked under “Investments””

For each slip, choose “I’ll upload it” and add the file, or “Get it from CRA” (requires CRA authorization, and the issuer must have filed it so it shows in your CRA My Account).

T3 – Trust / fund income
Uploador get from CRA
T5 – Interest / dividends
Uploador get from CRA
How many brokerage / investment accounts had trades?priced per account
Number
T5008 – Securities transactions
Uploador get from CRA
Brokerage / private-bank annual statementsincl. realized gains and fees
Upload
How many crypto exchanges / wallets?priced per exchange / wallet
Number
Crypto transaction recordsannual reports or full trade history from each exchange / walletSelling, swapping for another coin or paying with crypto are dispositions and must be reported; just buying and holding is not.
Upload
Other investment incomesource and amount — e.g. private loan interest, partnership income
Text
How many loans were used for investing?policy loans / property-secured borrowing — priced per loan
Number
Annual loan interest statements + where the borrowed money was invested
Upload
Other investment expenses to deduct?management / advisory / custody fees, etc.
Yes / No
Investment expense receiptsmanagement / advisory fee statements↳ Only if “Yes” above
Upload

Home: first home & renovation credits

If “Anything ticked under “Home: first home & renovation credits””
First-time home buyer (worldwide) in 2026: Statement of Adjustments + land transfer
Upload
Multigenerational home renovation (separate entrance, kitchen, bathroom, bedroom) — amountsee appendix self-test
Amount
Home accessibility renovation (for a person 65+ or DTC-eligible) — amount
Amount

Foreign income

If “Foreign income”
Foreign income records / proof of tax paidPlease upload documents showing your 2026 foreign income and the tax you paid: · China: the “income & tax details” export from the Individual Income Tax app, or the official tax payment record, covering all of 2026; if you did the annual reconciliation, include its result · US: W-2 (wages) / 1099 (other income), plus your filed 2026 Form 1040 and state return (to confirm the final tax actually paid) · Other countries: an annual income letter or payslips from your employer, plus the local tax authority’s tax certificate / return · Foreign pension, interest, dividends: annual statements or deposit records from the bank / pension plan Amounts in the original currency are fine — we convert at the Bank of Canada annual average rate.
Upload

Foreign employment income

Enter amounts in the original currency and note the currency — we convert at the Bank of Canada annual average rate.

One row each (up to 3): Employer · Country · Currency · Gross income · Foreign tax paid

Other foreign income

Enter amounts in the original currency with the currency noted. Foreign rental income goes under “Rental property” (so expenses can be deducted)

One row each (up to 5): Type · Source / payer · Country · Currency · Gross income · Foreign tax paid

Foreign property: do you need to file T1135?

If “Foreign assets > $100k”

T1135 is only required if the total cost of your foreign property was more than CAD 100,000 at any time in the year; if it stayed under CAD 250,000 all year you can use the simplified method. Amounts are in Canadian dollars. Personal-use property may be left out (we suggest listing it); jointly owned property counts by ownership share (usually 50% each if not specified).

Highest total cost of foreign property at any time in the yearCAD
$100,000 or less all year — no T1135 needed / Over $100,000 but under $250,000 all year — simplified reporting / $250,000 or more at any time — detailed, item by item
How should we help with T1135?↳ Only if T1135 is neededThis is how we help — separate from the reporting method above (simplified / detailed). Prices differ: preparing it is charged at the T1135 filing rate; help organizing / advice is extra and your accountant will quote it for you to confirm first. Both appear separately in the fee estimate at the end. You can start with “prepare it for me” and change later.
My details are ready — please prepare it for me / I need help organizing the details / advice
Simplified: which types of foreign property you hold↳ Only for simplified reporting
Text
Simplified: total income from foreign propertyCAD↳ Only for simplified reporting
Amount
Simplified: net gain (loss) on dispositionsCAD↳ Only for simplified reporting
Amount

Which types of foreign property do you hold?

If “Foreign assets > $100k”if over $250k

Tick each type held, then one row per item: Name / address · Country · Original currency · Max cost in year (CAD) · Year-end cost (CAD) · Income (CAD) · Gain (loss) (CAD)

All amounts below are in Canadian dollars (CAD); “Original currency” only shows what currency the asset is held in.

  • ① Funds held outside Canada (deposits, funds, wealth products, investment insurance)
  • ② Shares of non-resident corporations
  • ③ Indebtedness owed by non-residents
  • ④ Interests in non-resident trusts
  • ⑤ Real property outside Canada (address)
  • ⑥ Other property outside Canada (art, jewellery, etc.)
  • ⑦ Foreign property held with a Canadian dealer / trust company (e.g. US stocks)

School & family

If “Anything ticked under “School & family””
T2202 – Tuition and enrolment certificate
Uploador get from CRA
Tuition / training fee receipts
Upload
Government student loan interest statementOnly interest on Canada / provincial student loans qualifies — not private loans or lines of credit. Unused amounts carry forward 5 years.
Upload
Spousal support receivedchild support is not reportedAdults
Amount
Spousal support paidchild support is not deductibleAdults
Amount
Separation agreement / court orderfirst time, or if it changedAdults
Upload

Other situations

If “Anything ticked under “Other situations””
Tax instalments paid to CRA for 2026 — totalIf you’ve authorized us, we’ll check the amount in your CRA account — leave it blank if you’re not sure.
Amount
Payment recordsonline-banking confirmations / CRA reminder letters — optional
Upload

Moving to / leaving Canada

If “Arrived in / left Canada”
Date you started living in Canada
Date
World income before you moved hereJan 1 – that dateLeave it blank if you don’t know yet (listed as “to be confirmed” on the review page); enter 0 only if there was no income. If you have proof of income, upload it at the bottom of this page.
Amount
Canadian income before you moved hereJan 1 – that dateLeave it blank if you don’t know yet (listed as “to be confirmed” on the review page); enter 0 only if there was no income. If you have proof of income, upload it at the bottom of this page.
Amount
First return / never received a CRA notice of assessment: should we apply for the GST/HST credit for you?extra fee
Yes / No
Date you stopped living in Canada
Date
World income after you leftthat date – Dec 31Leave it blank if you don’t know yet (listed as “to be confirmed” on the review page); enter 0 only if there was no income. If you have proof of income, upload it at the bottom of this page.
Amount
Canadian income after you leftthat date – Dec 31Leave it blank if you don’t know yet (listed as “to be confirmed” on the review page); enter 0 only if there was no income. If you have proof of income, upload it at the bottom of this page.
Amount
Proof of income for the part of the year before you arrived / after you leftforeign tax documents, pay slips, etc. — if available
Upload

Assets you owned when you left

If “Arrived in / left Canada”if you left Canada

Assets you owned when you left

List everything you owned on the day you left (real estate, stocks and funds, company shares, valuables, etc.) — no need to decide what must be reported; cash and RRSP / RESP / TFSA can be left out. Your accountant decides what is reported and how.

One row each (up to 6): Asset · In / outside Canada · Approx. value when you left · Original cost

4. Household items

Property · child care · medical · donations · benefits

Rental property 1

If “Rental property”

Short-term rentals: without a valid licence or in a prohibited area, related expenses are not deductible; revenue over $30,000 a year usually requires HST registration.

Rental type
Long-term / Short-term
Property type
Investment property / Part of principal residence
If partly rented: rented share of the home’s areapersonal-use share is not deductible
%
Rental start date
Date
Rental end dateleave blank if still rented
Date
Property addressincl. postal code
Text
Ownership % · principal taxpayer
%
Ownership % · spouse / partner
%
Ownership % · othersspecify
Text

Rental income and deductible expenses

Enter income and expenses for the whole property — don’t split them by ownership share. We’ll allocate them based on ownership and actual use.

  • Gross rents
  • Advertising
  • Leasing commissions
  • Insurance
  • Mortgage interest
  • Legal & accounting fees
  • Management / condo fees
  • Repairs & maintenance
  • Property tax
  • Utilities (water, hydro, gas, internet)
  • Reasonable travel
  • Reasonable motor vehicle
  • Office & other
  • Other (specify)
  • Other (specify)

Property sold 1

If “Sold a property”

If a property switched between personal use and rental, we will assess whether a subsection 45(2) / 45(3) election applies.

Property addressincl. postal code
Text
Principal residence or investment property?
Principal residence (lived there the whole time) / Investment property (never lived there) / Principal residence for some years (use changed)
Which years it was your principal residence, and how it was used otherwise↳ Only if “some years”e.g. lived there 2015–2019, rented out from 2020. A family can designate only one principal residence per year — if you had another home in those years, please mention it.
Text
Did you previously file a 45(2) / 45(3) election?Not sure? Leave it — we’ll check↳ Only if “some years”
Yes / No
Sold within 12 months of final closing?
Yes / No
Purchase dateor year
Date
Sale date
Date
Sale price
Amount
Purchase costprice + acquisition costs
Amount
Ownership % · principal taxpayer
%
Ownership % · spouse / partner
%
Upload: purchase agreement · trust ledger (purchase) · statement of adjustments (purchase) · deemed land transfer · sale agreement · statement of adjustmentssale
Upload

Deductible costs

  • Renovations (invoices / contracts)
  • Real estate commission
  • Advertising
  • Staging
  • Repairs
  • Legal & accounting
  • Foreign property: tax paid on the sale
  • Other (specify)
  • Other (specify)

Foreign affiliate (T1134)

If “Foreign affiliate”

T1134 needs company-by-company information — please contact us first and we’ll confirm what’s needed.

Child care & donations

If “Child care or donations”

Child care / day camp expenses

One row each (up to 10): Child care provider / caregiver · Type · Child · Weeks · Amount

Child care / camp receiptsReceipts should show the provider’s name, the child’s name and the amount.
Upload

Charitable donations

One row each (up to 20): Charity · Amount · Receipt date

Donation receiptsofficial tax receipts
Upload

Medical expenses

If “Medical expenses”

Any 12-month period ending in 2026; leave blank and we’ll choose the best period. Lots of receipts? Just upload them.

12-month period: start
Date
12-month period: end
Date
Or: total per persondescribe
Amount

Medical expenses

Prefer not to list them? Switch on “upload statements” and upload the original receipts and insurance reimbursement statements — your accountant will sort them out.

One row each (up to 20): Date paid · Patient · Paid to · Description · Net amount you paid

Private health plan premiums

One row each (up to 5): Plan · Paid by · Insured · Amount

Moving: are you eligible?

If “Moved for work / school”

Self-test first: moving expenses can only be claimed if all four conditions below apply.

① You moved to work or run a business at a new location, or to study full-time at a post-secondary school
Yes / No
② Your new home is at least 40 km closer to the new work / school than your old homeby the shortest normal route
Yes / No
③ You were (or became, after the move) a Canadian tax resident that year
Yes / No
④ The new home is your principal residence
Yes / No

The move & moving costs

If “Moved for work / school”if all four conditions apply
Old home to new work / schoolkm
Number
New home to new work / schoolkm
Number
Moving date
Date
Start date of new work / studies
Date
Reasonwork / studies
Text
Old address
Text
New address
Text
School / employer name and address
Text
Income earned at the new location to Dec 31, 2026
Amount

Moving costs (fill what applies)

  • Moving company
  • Self-move: vehicle / people / trip dates / distance / days
  • Airfare / train / bus
  • Lodging (nights and cost)
  • Old home sale: commission
  • Old home sale: legal fees
  • Old home sale: advertising
  • New home purchase: legal fees
  • New home purchase: registration / land transfer
  • Other (note any employer reimbursement)

Ontario Trillium Benefit

Your home in 2026
Owned / Rented / Not applying / Both during the year (rented, then bought — or the reverse)
Owned: 2026 property tax billand proof of payment↳ Homeowners only
Upload
Lived in a designated student residence / long-term care home
Yes / No

Lease & rent paid

if you rent
Rented: lease + landlord receipts / e-transfer proof
Upload

Rent paid

One row each (up to 3): Address · Months · Total rent

Québec residents

If “Live in Québec”

Québec returns are handled separately by your accountant. If you live in Québec, please complete this section.

Québec health insurance numberfor tuition, medical credits
Text
Lived in Québec all of 2026?note move dates
Text
Revenu Québec account / RQ benefits received?
Yes / No
Forms besides TP-1: TP-22 moving / TP-1029 series / TP-80 self-employment / other
Text
Rented and paid municipal taxSolidarity tax credit · RL-31
Yes / No
Family allowance / single-parent, low-income or family with children
Yes / No
Worked / lived across provinces · moved in / out (part-year) · remote work TP-64.3
Text
Self-employed: main business address · home-related expenses?
Text
Prefer French communication?
Yes / No

Anything else your accountant should know?

Anything else your accountant should know
Text

Pricing

Ordinary slips are included in the base price; self-employment, rentals, foreign assets etc. are priced per item. The guided interview estimates your fee automatically.

View pricing →

Appendix

  • Multigenerational renovation self-test: qualifying person 65+ or 18+ with DTC; first claim for that person; home in Canada owned by them or a relative; they live there with a relative within 12 months of completion; claimant resident all year, owns the home and is a qualifying relative; costs not claimed as medical / accessibility; completed in the year
  • 2026 Ontario + federal combined marginal rates: updated once CRA publishes

SHENG QIAN CHARTERED PROFESSIONAL ACCOUNTANTS · 15 Wertheim Ct., Richmond Hill, ON · info@sqcpa.ca